The Rural Analysis of the 2021 Regional and Rural Edition focuses on the park needs of Rural communities primarily located in the Antelope Valley, Santa Clarita Valley, and Santa Monica Mountains.

The Rural Analysis evaluates access and need considerations related to parks, open spaces, and unique amenities that are primarily intended to serve rural residents of the County. The primary goal is for Angelenos living in rural areas to have access to parks, open spaces, and recreational facilities, and that park resources are provided equitably among rural areas.

Rural Study Areas

The 14 Rural Study Areas include rural communities in the Antelope Valley, Santa Clarita Valley, Santa Monica Mountains, and Santa Catalina Island. These study areas were established following an analysis of the 2016 Parks Needs Assessment study area boundaries, rural land use categories from the General Plan and other land use plans, and community standards districts and Rural Outdoor Lighting boundaries as detailed in the Zoning Code.

1. Northwest Antelope Valley

2. Northeast Antelope Valley

3. Leona Valley/Lake Hughes/Elizabeth Lake

4. Unincorporated Lancaster/Unincorporated Palmdale/Quartz Hill

5. Castaic/Val Verde

6. Agua Dulce/Canyon Country

7. Acton/South Antelope Valley

8. Littlerock/Sun Village/Juniper Hills

9. Lake Los Angeles/Pearblossom/Liano/Valyermo

10. Stevenson Ranch/Newhall Ranch

11. Unincorporated Angeles National Forest/Unincorporated Sylmar

12. Santa Monica Mountains North Area

13. Santa Monica Mountains Coastal Zone

14. Santa Catalina Island

Fact Sheets